Media Center

Secretary Husted Announces Certified Statewide Candidates

COLUMBUS – Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted today announced the complete list of candidates who have qualified to run for statewide offices following the review and verification of signatures by county boards of elections.
Statewide candidates appearing on the May Primary ballot include:

For Governor and Lieutenant Governor
Democratic Party
• Richard Cordray and Betty Sutton
• Larry E. Ealy and Jeffrey Lynn
• Dennis John Kucinich and Tara L. Samples
• Bill O’Neill and Chantelle C. Lewis
• Paul E. Ray and Jerry M. Schroeder
• Joe Schiavoni and Stephanie Dodd
Green Party
• Constance Gadell-Newton and Brett R. Joseph
Republican Party
• Mike DeWine and Jon Husted
• Mary Taylor and Nathan D. Estruth

For Attorney General
Democratic Party
• Steve Dettelbach
Republican Party
• Dave Yost

For Auditor of State
Democratic Party
• Zack Space
Republican Party
• Keith Faber

For Secretary of State
Democratic Party
• Kathleen Clyde
Republican Party
• Frank LaRose

For Treasurer of State
Democratic Party
• Rob Richardson
Republican Party
• Sandra O’Brien
• Robert Sprague

For United States Senator
Democratic Party
• Sherrod Brown
Republican Party
• Melissa Ackison
• Don Elijah Eckhart
• Mike Gibbons
• Dan Kiley
• Jim Renacci

For Justice of the Supreme Court (Full Term Commencing 1/1/19)
Democratic Party
• Michael P. Donnelly
Republican Party
• Craig Baldwin

For Justice of the Supreme Court (Full Term Commencing 1/2/19)
Democratic Party
• Melody J. Stewart
Republican Party
• Mary DeGenaro

The following individuals did not qualify for the ballot due to a lack of sufficient valid signatures:
• For Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Jonathan Heavey and Adam Hudak (Democrat)
• For Auditor of State: Kelli Prather (Democrat)
• For Treasurer of State: Neil Patel (Democrat)

To have qualified for the ballot, major party candidates must have collected 1,000 valid signatures and minor party candidates must have collected 500 valid signatures.

Additional Information
Directive 2018-06 Statewide Candidates for May 8, 2018 Primary Election

Media Inquiries

Sam Rossi
Press Secretary
[email protected]
(614) 466-2729
Receive Email Updates