Media Center

Secretary Husted Announces Appointments to County Boards of Elections

COLUMBUS– In the last week, Secretary of State Jon Husted has named 176 individuals to serve as members of the 88 county boards of elections in Ohio. The new board appointees began their four-year terms on March 1, 2017.  

“The men and women who serve on the 88 county boards of elections play important roles in ensuring the quality and integrity of our elections,” Secretary Husted said. “Local election officials are on the front lines of our democracy and I’m grateful to everyone willing to step up and join our cause.” 

State law requires bipartisan representation on each of Ohio’s 88 county boards of elections. Each board is made up of two Republican members and two Democratic members, all of whom must be qualified electors in the counties for which they serve. The Secretary of State makes appointments to boards of elections based on the recommendations of the executive committees of the respective county political parties. Board members serve staggered, four-year terms. 

Secretary Husted invited new board members to the Ohio Statehouse on February 23rd to receive their oath of office. Photos of that event can be found here. Members unavailable to attend the event must make plans to receive their oath of office before taking their seat.  

Additional Information


Media Inquiries

Sam Rossi
Press Secretary
[email protected]
(614) 466-2729
Receive Email Updates