Media Center

Secretary Husted Announces Ballot Board Meeting

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Secretary Husted Announces Ballot Board Meeting

COLUMBUS – Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted announced he will convene an emergency meeting of the Ohio Ballot Board, pursuant to Ohio Administrative Code 111:2-1-01 and Ohio Revised Code 121.22(F). The meeting will be held on Friday, September 18, 2015 for the purpose of modifying ballot language for State Issue 3, pursuant to the September 16th ruling by the Ohio Supreme Court.

            WHO:            Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted

            WHAT:          Meeting of the Ohio Ballot Board

            WHEN:         Friday, September 18, 2015 at 9:00am

            WHERE:      Finan Senate Finance Hearing Room
                                    Ohio Statehouse
                                    1 Capitol Square
                                    Columbus, Ohio 43215

In addition to making technical changes to the ballot language for State Issue 3, the board will also determine whether a proposed constitutional amendment, which seeks to modify term limits in Ohio, contains one or more than one issue. The Ballot Board has 10 days from the date the certification is received from the attorney general to complete this task.

If it is determined that there is more than one amendment, the Ballot Board will divide the initiative into individual petitions containing only one constitutional amendment so as to enable the voters to vote on each proposal separately and certify its approval to the attorney general. Petitioners would then need to resubmit summaries for each of the individual petitions to the attorney general for certification.

Petitioners will need to collect 305,591 signatures, which is equal to 10 percent of the total vote cast for governor in 2014. As part of the total number of signatures needed to place the measure on the ballot, petitioners must also have collected signatures from at least 44 of Ohio’s 88 counties, and within each of those counties, collect enough signatures equal to five percent of the total vote cast for governor in the most recent gubernatorial election, 2014.

Secretary Husted serves as the Chairman of the Ohio Ballot Board. Other members include Ohio Senate President Keith Faber, State Representative Kathleen Clyde, former State Senator Nina Turner and Mr. William Morgan.

Ballot Board meetings are open to the public and are also streamed live on the Ohio Channel here.

Additional Information:


For more information, please contact Joshua Eck at (614) 466-2729

Media Inquiries

Sam Rossi
Press Secretary
[email protected]
(614) 466-2729
Receive Email Updates