Breadcrumb Navigation

Media Center

Secretary of State Husted Announces Ohio City & Village Classifications Based on 2010 Census Data

COLUMBUS – Secretary of State Jon Husted today released an official roster of cities and villages throughout the state following a review of the 2010 U.S. Census Bureau Report. In total, Ohio will have 247 cities and 691 villages.

Under Section 703.06 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Secretary of State’s office reviews the 10-year Census report and verifies the population totals of all municipalities and villages. Those entities that have populations of 5,000 or more are issued proclamations indicating their status as a city, while those entities that have populations under 5,000 are issued proclamations indicating their status as a village.

“Census data is critical for ensuring Ohio communities receive all of the rights and benefits due to them under the law,” Husted said.

Compared to the 2000 census figures, Ohio’s population has grown by two percent to 11,536,504. The number cities in Ohio has increased by three, from 244 to 247, and the number of villages remains at 691 total. Among these, several communities received a new classification. Six villages have been reclassified as cities and nine cities as villages.These municipalities and villages officially change status within 30 days of the date the proclamation was issued, though the law affords them the ability to go through an enumeration process if they feel the count does not accurately reflect their population.

Based on raw data from the Census Bureau, three communities – Ada, Granville and Grafton -- reached populations of more than 5,000, which would have led to a change in status; however, the law provides that for purposes of city and village classification, college students and prison inmates are not included as part of the official population. As such, these three communities will remain villages.  

Media Inquiries

Sam Rossi
Press Secretary
[email protected]
(614) 466-2729
Receive Email Updates