
Notary Commission
Pursuant to changes to ORC 147, effective 
September 20, 2019. 
 
The Notary Modernization Act takes effect 
on September 20, 2019 and significantly 
changes the process to obtain a notary 
public commission and permits electronic 
and online notarizations in Ohio.  The 
law eliminates the need to initiate the 
application process in the county where 
the applicant resides and eliminates the 
requirement to record a commission with 
the county. It also requires the notary to 
apply and renew their commission directly 
with the Ohio Secretary of State through the 
online system.

Requirements 
The Secretary of State may appoint and 
commission a notary public if the applicant 
meets the required qualifications. 

In order for a person to qualify, be appointed, 
and commissioned as a notary public, the 
person must be 18 years of age or older 
and must satisfy one of the following 
requirements:

•	 Is an Ohio resident who is not an attorney 
admitted to the practice of law in this 
state; or 

•	 Is an Ohio resident who is an attorney 
admitted to the practice of law in this 
state; or

•	 Is not an Ohio resident but is an attorney 
admitted to the practice of law in this 
state and has the person’s principal 
place of business or the person’s primary 
practice in this state.

This brochure applies to the first category 
listed above.
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Application and Renewal  
If you qualify to be a notary public:

Apply:

1.	 Obtain a criminal record check, current 
within six months of application. If the 
report shows no disqualifying offenses, 
then the applicant may proceed to the 
next step.

2.	 Contact an authorized education and 
testing provider for a three-hour class 
and pass a test.

3.	 Go to OhioSoS.gov and select “Notary.” 
Click “File Notary Commission 
Application and Updates” and select 
“File Online” at the bottom of the page. 
Your application will require you to 
provide your email address, phone 
number, mailing address, date of birth, 
and then you must upload a copy of 
your criminal record check, certificates 
from the education and testing provider, 
and an image of your signature. The fee 
to submit is $15.00. 

Renew: 
To renew, notaries must follow a similar 
process as above. However, they must take 
a one-hour class (instead of taking a three-
hour class and passing a test). An updated 
criminal record check is required.

Notaries public may apply to renew their 
commission beginning three months prior 
to its expiration. If the notary’s commission 
expires before they submit their application 
for renewal, the Secretary of State may not 
renew the expired commission and the 
applicant must submit a new notary public 
application.

Term of Office
Each notary public holds office for the 
term of five years unless the commission is 
revoked. 
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Notary Seal
Before performing the duties of office, a notary 
public must obtain a seal of a notary public. 
The seal must consist of the coat of arms of 
the state within a circle that is at least three-
quarters of an inch but not larger than one 
inch in diameter and shall be surrounded by 
the words “notary public,” “notarial seal,” or 
words to that effect, the name of the notary 
public and the words “State of Ohio.” The seal 
may be of either a type that will stamp ink 
onto a document or one that will emboss it. 
The name of the notary public may, instead of 
appearing on the seal, be printed, typewritten, 
or stamped in legible, printed letters near the 
notary public’s signature on each document 
signed by the notary public. A person 
commissioned as a notary public prior to the 
effective date of this law may continue to use a 
seal that met the requirements under the law 
prior to September 20, 2019.

Fees for Notarial Services 
Rendered
A notary public is not required to charge for 
the services provided; however, the notary 
public may charge a fee for a notarial act, not 
on a per signature basis, in an amount not to 
exceed the following:

•	 Five dollars per notarial act that is not an 
electronic or online notarization.

•	 Twenty-five dollars per notarial act for an 
online notarization.

A notary public may charge a reasonable travel 
fee, as agreed to by the notary public and the 
signer prior to the notarial act.

Prohibited Acts
Ohio Revised Code prohibits:

•	 Notarizing a notary’s own signature; 

•	 Performing a notarial act if the notary 
has a conflict of interest with regard to 
the transaction in question;

•	 Certifying that a document is an original 
document or a true copy of another 
record, or take an acknowledgment in 
lieu of an oath or affirmation if an oath 
or affirmation is required. 

The list of prohibited acts is not limited to 
the above. For more information, consult 
ORC 147.141. 

A notary public must follow the law 
regarding how to perform the duties of 
the office and may contact an authorized 
provider for education if necessary.

Complaints, Investigations 
and Discipline 
Any person may submit a complaint in 
writing to the Secretary of State and allege 
that a notary public has violated the law. 
The complaint must include the name 
of the notary public; an explanation of 
the reason for the complaint; a copy of 
each document related to the matter; 
and the name, phone number, address, 
email address and signature of the person 
submitting the complaint.

The Secretary of State’s office may 
investigate violations of the notary law and 
may conduct an administrative hearing 
resulting in discipline up to and including 
revocation of a notary public’s commission. 

Online Notarization
The Notary Modernization Act permits online notarizations to be performed by a notary 
public after the notary public receives additional education, testing and authorization 
from the Secretary of State. Online notarization is when documents are notarized 
in electronic form where the signer uses an electronic signature and appears before 
the notary using online video technology. While a notary must be physically located 
in Ohio at the time of the notarial act, a signer may be located anywhere within the 
territory of the United States or outside the United States. For more information on the 
requirements for an online notarization system, visit OhioSoS.gov/Notary.

Online Authorization Application
To obtain authorization to perform online 
notarizations in Ohio, an applicant must be 
commissioned as a notary public, must be an 
Ohio resident and must apply electronically 
to the Secretary of State. An application must 
include the following:

•	 Description of the technology to be used to 
perform online notarizations;

•	 A certification that the applicant will comply 
with the law and administrative rules;

•	 A disclosure of all license or commission 
revocations or other professional disciplinary 
action taken against the applicant;

•	 Certification of completed education and 
testing requirement from the authorized 
education and testing provider; and

•	 A filing fee of $20.00 paid by credit or debit 
card. 

Online Authorization Renewal
To renew the authority to perform online 
notarizations, notaries must follow a similar 
process as above. However, the length of the 
class is shorter.

The authorization to perform online 
notarizations expires when a notary public 
commission expires. Therefore, if a notary 
public commission expires in one year, and 
the notary public obtains authorization 
to perform online notarizations, this 
authorization will only be valid for one year 
and must be renewed when the commission 
is renewed.

  

Electronic Notarization
The Notary Modernization Act permits electronic notarizations to be performed by any 
notary public with an active commission in Ohio. An electronic notarization is a notarial act 
performed by a notary public using an electronic seal and electronic signature on a digital 
document.  Unlike an online notarization, the signer must be in the actual physical presence 
of the notary public at the time of notarization.  The technology used to attach an electronic 
signature to a document must:

•	 Allow the electronic signature to be attributed or uniquely linked to the notary public;

•	 Be capable of independent verification;

•	 Be retained under the notary public’s exclusive control; and

•	 Be linked to the electronic document to which it relates in such a manner that any 
subsequent change of the electronic document is detectable. 


